Utah Alcohol Training for On-Site Consumption
The Utah Alcohol Training for On-Site Consumption course is an online program that prepares alcohol servers to sell alcohol responsibly and legally. Whether you're a bartender or server, this course will equip you with a thorough understanding of Utah's alcohol laws, regulations and best practices.
This Utah Alcohol Training course is approved by the Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Services (DABS). Utah law requires every person who serves alcohol for on-premise consumption in a restaurant, private club, bar or tavern to complete an alcohol training and education seminar within 30 days of employment.
Who Needs this Training?
This training is essential for Utah employees who are involved in on-premise alcohol service. This includes bartenders, servers, waitstaff and other employees who serve alcohol for on-site consumption. A separate training program is required for managers and supervisors. Visit the DABS website to learn more about manager training.
On-premise establishments include bars, restaurants, clubs, hotels and more. Whether you are a seasoned professional or new to the industry, this training will teach you how to serve alcohol safely and avoid illegal sales to minors and intoxicated patrons.
Utah law states every person who serves alcohol in a restaurant, club, bar or tavern must complete an alcohol training and education seminar within 30 days of employment. They must also retake the course every three years after that.
Our three-hour Utah Alcohol Server Training for On-Premise Consumption course covers a range of important topics to ensure responsible alcohol service and compliance with state regulations.
The course topics include:
- Utah’s alcohol laws and regulations
- Responsible serving techniques
- ID verification
- Responding to alcohol-related emergencies
- Understanding the effects of alcohol on the body
- Individual and establishment liabilities
- And more
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Utah Alcohol Server Training for On-Premise Consumption?
This online course provides on-premise alcohol servers in Utah with the necessary knowledge and skills to responsibly handle and serve alcohol. It covers state laws, regulations and best practices to ensure safe and legal alcohol sales and service.
Who should take this course?
This course is mandatory for Utah employees who serve alcohol that customers consume on-site, including bartenders and servers. It is also recommended for anyone seeking employment in a hospitality industry role where alcohol service is involved. If you are a manager, supervisor or owner, you must complete a separate program called On-Premise Retail Managers Training.
Is this course approved by the state of Utah?
Yes. This course is approved by the Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Services (DABS) and meets the training requirements outlined in the state’s alcohol laws.
How long is the course?
The course is three hours long. You can complete it at your own pace, and you can log in and out as needed.
What will I learn in this course?
You will learn Utah's alcohol laws and regulations, responsible alcohol service techniques, identifying and preventing intoxication, checking identification, avoiding sales to minors, dealing with difficult situations and more.
What do I get after completing the course?
You will receive a completion certificate and certification card after finishing the course. Both the certificate and card are available for instant download immediately after completing the course. Your course completion will automatically be reported to the state.
How do I report my course completion?
We will report your course completion to the Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Services, so you do not need to provide your certificate to the state. Your employer may ask for a copy of your card or certificate to keep in its records.
How long is my certification valid?
Your certificate expires three years from the date of course completion. You must repeat the course to renew your certification.
What are the testing requirements?
You’re required to pass a quiz after each of the course’s five modules. You must score at least 70% to pass each quiz, and you have unlimited attempts. The 20-question final exam also includes unlimited attempts and has a minimum passing score of 70%.
Can I take this course on a mobile device?
Yes. The course is accessible on various devices, including computers, tablets and smartphones.